Kick Ass Biz Mama #2 – Kristen Berriman

Dear Ladies,

Today’s kick ass mama is a little special to us because she is an active mum who is juggling a growing business. She is also very passionate about trying to minimise her children’s, and her own, exposure to harmful substances by creating an organic skincare range. Her nipple balm and belly butter are perfect for conscious, pregnant mummies, but make sure you check out the full range online too.

Girls rule!

Collette

X

Kick Ass Biz Mama #2 – Kristen Berriman, owner of BasiK Organics

IMG_4760

Tell us about your business – when did you start it and what is it all about?

BasiK Organics provides families with organic, safe and effective skin care for baby, pregnancy and beyond. I have always been a beauty and make-up junkie. However a few years ago I began to question what exactly was going into my make-up and skin care products. Why was it that I struggled to even pronounce most of the things listed on the ingredients? So I began to research, read, and experiment. I started by clearing out my entire make-up and skin care collection, and I also began making my own creams and oils. Within a matter of weeks I found that my skin was looking great using my all-natural products. Maybe even better than before!

When I fell pregnant with my first son 4 years ago I knew I couldn’t, or wouldn’t expose my precious baby to the toxins found in many products on the market, including baby products! The thing was, many of the so called ‘organic’ and ‘all-natural’ products I was looking at still had a multitude of nasties in them. And in the world of skin care ‘organic’ doesn’t actually mean much. With no regulations surrounding the use of such words, it’s scary to think that many of us are totally being misled and are still using toxic products that we believe to be all-natural. I wanted to create a range that was truly 100% organic. That was made locally and ethically, and was affordable and easily accessible for families.

What inspired you to start your business?

When I looked at the extensive list of ingredients on the products I was using I was concerned with what I was exposing my body to. The skin absorbs around 60% of what we put on it, so it became so important to me to change what I was using and take a more natural approach to the products I used. The thing was, I struggled to find products out there that were in fact 100% organic and chemical-free. When becoming pregnant for the first time I realised just how much of a gap in the market there was when it came to organic products for mother and baby. And so this spurred me on to create something that met the needs of today’s modern, health conscious families.

IMG_4249

What was the best piece of business advice you were given when you were starting off?

Never give up! Starting a business is hard. Investing time, money and your heart and soul into something you believe so passionately in can be a scary thing to do. Believing in my products 100% and hearing such amazing feedback from my customers is what has helped spur me on.

What was the most difficult part about starting your business?

The juggling act! Being a mum of two, working part-time and running my business means I need to be ultra organised and super driven. I try to remain present in each moment of my day. Working from home with my business means that sometimes I have to send emails or pack orders while I have little people tugging at my leg, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Can you name the biggest lesson you’ve learned about running your business?

You have to have a passion for what you do. Without passion you’re likely to lose the drive and it’s far easier to give up when things get tough. Never lose sight of the end goal.

What has been the biggest sacrifice you’ve made in starting your business?

I think it would have to be my time. Before starting up my business I would have the luxury to sit and relax once the kids were in bed at night, but these days I find night times are when I can get the most done, without little interruptions 😉

IMG_4416

What is one thing you wish you had of known before you started your business?

Just how much time and drive it takes to make it happen. It’s not easy, and you have to keep believing in what you’re doing.

What has been your biggest success so far?

I would say my journey so far with BasiK Organics has been a culmination of many little successes. The amazing feedback I receive on a daily basis from my customers makes it all so worthwhile. I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of hearing just how much people love my products.

After a long day/night/week what do you do to unwind?

PJs, couch, dark chocolate and peppermint tea (or maybe red wine!) – my perfect night!

What other businesses/people or things currently inspire you?

I am inspired each and every day by the amazing community of women in business I have come across on Instagram in particular. The support and encouragement I have received is awesome, and it’s so great to have so many amazing women out there that support each other and build each other up.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

BasiK Organics is found world-wide, with families having access to a range of amazing, effective, beautiful products.

Leave a comment